Football Stats

League 2

League 2 is the fourth tier of the English football league system. It currently consists of 24 teams all playing for the 4 promotion spots to League 1, 3 of which are automatic and the fourth is via the play off and is played out between the teams finishing 4th - 7th. At the bottom of the table there are 2 relegation spots to the Blue Square Premier League (Non-League).

The fourth tier of the English League has been around since the 1958/1959 season where it was known as the Fourth Division. It remained this way up to the 1991/92 season and the advent of the Premier League when it changed it's name to the Third Divion in time for the 1992/1993 season. It stayed this way until it was renamed to League 2 for the 2004/2005 season.

League 2 is currently contested by the folllowing teams:

Accrington Stanley

AFC Wimbledon

Burton Albion


Cambridge United

Carlisle United

Cheltenham Town

Dagenham and Redbridge

Exeter City

Hartlepool United

Luton Town

Mansfield Town


Newport County

Northampton Town

Oxford United

Plymouth Argyle


Shrewsbury Town

Southend United


Tranmere Rovers

Wycombe Wanderers

York City




  • Betting home