Football Stats

League 1

League 1 is the third tier of the English football league system. It currently consists of 24 teams all playing for the 3 promotion spots to the Championship, 2 of which are automatic and the third is via the play off and is played out between the teams finishing 3rd - 6th. At the bottom of the table there are 4 relegation spots to League 2.

The third tier of the English League has been around since the 1920/1921 season where it was known as the Third Division following this one season it then split into 2 seperate North and South divions upto the end of 1957/1958 season. This split ended for the 1958/1959 season and it returned back to the Third Division and remained this way up to the 1991/92 season and the advent of the Premier League when it changed it's name to the Second Divion in time for the 1992/1993 season. It stayed this way until it was renamed to League 1 for the 2004/2005 season.

League 1 is currently contested by the folllowing teams:

AFC Wimbledon

Blackburn Rovers


Bradford City

Bristol Rovers


Charlton Athletic

Doncaster Rovers

Fleetwood Town


MK Dons

Northampton Town

Oldham Athletic

Oxford United

Peterborough United

Plymouth Argyle



Rotherham United

Scunthorpe United

Shrewsbury Town

Southend United


Wigan Athletic




  • Betting home